World Snooker Championship 2013

World Snooker Championship 2013

The World Snooker Championship 2013 is shaping up to be one of the best tournaments yet.

For decades, snooker’s most prestigious event has been dominated by a single outstanding player. The 1970s belonged to Ray Reardon, the 1980s to Steve Davis and the 1990s to Stephen Hendry. But the dead certs have disappeared in recent years – no defending champion managed to retain their crown in the first decade of the 21st century. The exciting news for snooker betting fans is that the field still looks to be wide open for the World Snooker Championship 2013.

Rising stars tipped for greatness in 2013

In a challenge to the established big names, snooker has seen an influx of young talent in the last five years. Eye-catching performances from precocious upstarts like Judd Trump, Mark Allen and Ding Junhui have prompted many snooker betting experts inside the game to tip them as potential winners of the 2013 snooker world championship. Only time will tell if they live up to their early promise.

The Crucible Theatre-spiritual home of snooker

In 2013, fans will return once again to the spiritual home of the sport, the Crucible Theatre. The venue, situated in the heart of Sheffield, has become synonymous with snooker ever since it first hosted the world championship in 1977. It seats less than a thousand people and gives spectators an exceptionally close view of the action, which helps generate an intense atmosphere that is second to none.

The claustrophobic nature of the Crucible also racks up the tension in key frames. Even experienced players can suffer an attack of nerves at the world championships, and underdogs are always in with a chance of upsetting the odds, as evidenced by the triumph of rank outsider Shaun Murphy in 2005.

World Snooker Championship 2013 schedule

The World Snooker Championship kicks off in April 2013 with a match featuring the 2012 champion. While the early rounds are typically fairly brief affairs, later rounds can last for several days as the frame count – and the quality of play – rises. The tournament reaches a climax in early May with a gruelling best-of-35-frame final. Whoever wins that match will have earned their right to be called the world champion of snooker.